top of page

Rise and Shine - Math

Recently I have been talking with a lot of teacher about my Rise and Shine program and thought that this would be a great topic to start (or restart!) my blog.

Rise and Shine is a morning bell-work program that helps to engage students to work independently when they arrive in the morning, allowing you some time for all of the fun things we teachers do first thing in the morning: agendas, collecting forms, collecting money, responding to notes, attendance (and on and on and on ...).

While the program requires a bit of set up at the beginning of the year, once you have everything started you only need to adapt it each month to fit what you are studying.

Where to begin:

I start my Rise and Shine program in the second week of school. At first it will seem to take FOREVER and that's ok (repeat after me 'That's OK!'). Your students will need time to learn all of the activities well enough so that it becomes independent work. I like to start with skip counting because it is an easy entry for all students. Students can use any manipulatives that work for them, number lines, hundreds charts etc.

Skip Counting:

Students work with 'Todays Number' and add on.

Ex: Todays Number: 5

+1: 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

+2: 7, 9, 11, 13, 15

+3: 8, 11, 14, 17, 20

This is the intro page; I also have a second version with bigger numbers, and a page for money. This allows me to differentiate for my students, and adapt based on the unit we are working on.

Place Value:

The next page I introduce is the Place Value page. It requires students to decide if the number is even or odd, write the number in word form, and draw it using Base 10 symbols. Students can then use the blank space to represent the number using pictures.

Working with Numbers:

Once the students are independent with their skip counting and place value pages, I introduce 'Working with Numbers'. One at a time we explore the different ways to represent numbers. Students learn Base 10, expanded form, decomposing etc and use 4 of these to represent 'Todays Number'.

Ex: Todays Number: 475

475 = 400+70+5

475 = 175+300

** Download my free Rise and Shine booklet and sample Teacher Presentation (with instructions) from the Rise and Shine page of my math website! CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page