top of page

Numeracy and Beyond Conference

This past Saturday, I had the opportunity to present a math games workshop for Peel's Parent Numeracy and Beyond Conference.

Have only assisted in presentations before, I was a little nervous to branch out on my own, but I am so glad that I did!

Wanting to keep things 21st C, and knowing that I lose mose handouts that I am given, I thought I would create a simple website outlining some of the games I play with my students. It never really occured to me that people would actually see it, share it, and use it! To me, at first, it was nothing more than an interactive handout.

But here we are - my amazing teachers partners have been sharing it all over Twitter and Facebook, and it has taken on a life of its own!

Back to the conference... I was so happy to see so many parents enjoying the games! I've never enjoyed workshops that consist of sitting and listening to others talk - it's always so much more fun to get up and 'do something', so that is exactly what I asked the parents to do.

We played, we shared, we talked; simply put - we had fun!

It made me realize how much I enjoyed sharing my ideas with others, and how rewarding it is to know that many other students will be able to enjoy the games we have created in my classroom!

I can't wait to post all of the new games still in the works!

Thank you for visiting my site - I hope you find it useful and enjoyable!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page